Ridesharing Laws In Florida
Ridesharing has changed the way Florida residents and 110 million visitors travel the state, which has prompted lawmakers to take action. Florida Governor Rick Scott has signed into law HB 221, also known as the “Uber/Lyft Bill” that makes the requirements for ride-sharing services uniform throughout the state.
Under the new law, minimum insurance levels of $50,000 are set for death and bodily injury per person, $100,000 for death and bodily injury per accident and $25,000 for property damage. For more legal advice about Florida insurance contact a Florida PIP and no-fault insurance dispute lawyer today.
When driving with a passenger an Uber driver must be covered by a $1,000,000 bodily injury, property damage, and wrongful death policy. If involved in an auto accident, the Uber or Lyft driver must present proof of insurance to the officer at the scene of the accident, same as they would in a personal vehicle accident.
Uber and Lyft BackGround Checks
Uber and Lyft are now required to perform background checks on drivers, where the following issues would prevent someone from being a driver:
- A felony in the past five years;
- Three or more moving violations in the past three years;
- A misdemeanor for drunk driving, reckless driving, hit-and-run, or fleeing from a police officer in the past five years;
- A misdemeanor for a violent offense, sexual battery or indecent exposure in the past five years;
- Driving with a suspended license in the past three years;
- Being on a sex offender registry;
- Not having a valid driver’s license, the proper insurance and vehicle registration.
There is a zero-tolerance policy if a rideshare driver is caught using drugs, alcohol or engages in discriminatory activities. The company is also required to disclose fares before passengers enter the vehicle and the license plate number and driver’s photograph must be displayed.
With the increase of popular “rideshare” apps such as Uber and Lyft, accidents involving these modes of transportation are becoming more common. It is important drivers and passengers who use and profit from these rideshare apps are aware of the new law and the procedures involved in filing an accident claim.
Contact a Rideshare Lawyer Today.
If you or a loved one have suffered an injury as a result of an rideshare car accident while using a ride-sharing service such as Uber or Lyft, it is important that you contact an experienced Orlando car accident lawyer immediately. The preservation of evidence, opinions of expert witnesses, effective use of discovery and an immediate and thorough investigation of the accident scene are all vital to your claim. At the Law Firm of Michael T. Gibson, we can help you obtain compensation for medical bills, future medical treatment, loss of wages, pain and suffering, etc. Feel free to fill out our quick contact form on our website to discuss your legal options in greater detail.
Michael T. Gibson P.A.
2420 S. Lakemont Avenue
Orlando, FL 32814