Laws pertaining to Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in Florida were recently changed and it may be a major factor in your car accident settlement. Legislation passed in 2012 put changes into effect that will impact settlement amounts. These changes took effect on January 1, 2013 and are an attempt to decrease the amount of insurance fraud.
PIP in Florida is required. It covers medical costs for the policy holder regardless of fault. But going forward, changes to the law will make filing car accident injury claims a bit more complicated, and many victims may be limited in the amount of compensation they may recover depending on whether injuries are considered emergency medical conditions.
Before you begin pursuing an injury claim with the insurance company, take a moment to read my overview of the Florida PIP coverage laws and how these recent changes may impact your settlement. An Orlando Auto Accident Attorney such as myself can help you with the settlement process.
The Basics of PIP Insurance
PIP in Florida is also known as No Fault Insurance. This provides coverage for medical costs from your injuries (and those of your household members and certain passengers) regardless of whether you or another driver was at fault for the accident. Note, however, that this does not include property damage liability, which covers damages to others’ property if you are at fault for an accident.
Minimum insurance requirements in Florida are: $10,000 per accident in property damage liability and $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
Additional coverage is also available, such as bodily injury liability that covers injuries to others in an accident you cause.
Considering medical bills for injuries such as head trauma can cost thousands of dollars and require long-term care, more serious injuries may require additional coverage beyond PIP coverage. If this is the case, you may file a claim or lawsuit against a negligent driver, with which an Orlando personal injury attorney such as myself can help.
PIP insurance provides compensation for 80 percent of medically necessary expenses, 60 percent of lost wages, 100 percent of personal services (child care, lawn maintenance, housekeeping), and up to $5,000 for death benefits. This may seem like it’ll be enough, but the new laws place several restrictions on the total amount you are able to collect.
The 2013 Florida PIP Restrictions
Under the new 2013 laws, you may only recover $2,500 in medical damages unless your injuries were severe enough to be considered an “emergency medical condition” as deemed by a medical professional.
The new PIP laws give you only 14 days to seek medical care and personal services before PIP insurance will no longer cover these expenses. Even if you comply with this short window of time, any additional care beyond those first two weeks has to be approved by referral from medical providers.
Let an Orlando Auto Accident Attorney Help
Since the new PIP laws in Florida have taken effect, I’ve seen cases become more complicated for victims trying to recover even the most basic of medical costs. Massage and acupuncture are no longer covered under the PIP coverage, and insurance carriers are now requesting examinations under oath (EUOs) or additional medical exams and threatening to deny PIP coverage.
Get Help With Your Injuries After An Orlando Auto Accident
I don’t want to see anybody denied their rightful benefits by the insurance companies under these new PIP insurance law changes. I’d like to offer a free consultation to any driver, pedestrian, motorcyclist or other accident victim who is involved in a crash.
Let me help you understand your insurance coverage and the rights you have to recover compensation for damages another’s negligent driving habits have caused you. Call today at 888-465-1577 to set up a consultation with an Orlando personal injury attorney to discuss your legal options under PIP in Florida.