In Florida, all drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) by law. This is done so that if you are involved in a Florida auto accident, you have medical coverage to help pay for your injuries. While this law has been extremely effective, 2013 brings new changes to the Florida PIP law that residents should be aware of. Here are just a few of the changes that will go into effect at the beginning of next year:
- Medical coverage will be lower, except for emergency medical conditions. Currently, PIP coverage pays for 80 percent of your accident-related medical expenses, up to $10,000. But when the changes take effect, your condition must be initially diagnosed as a medical emergency to obtain the full $10,000 PIP benefit level. The new PIP benefit limit for treatment associated with non-emergency medical conditions will be $2,500.
- You will have to obtain initial medical treatment within 14 days. If you fail to seek treatment from a qualified medical provider within the two-week period immediately following the accident, you will not be entitled to PIP coverage for any medical benefits.
- Massage therapy and acupuncture will not be covered. Unless you can obtain coverage for these types of treatment through your health insurance or the medical provider agrees to provide them under what is known as a letter of protection, you will need to pay for them out of your own pocket.
Hire an Experienced Orlando Auto Accident Attorney
There are other changes in the Florida PIP law that will take effect in 2013. Overall, the new changes could make it more difficult for you to obtain coverage for your accident-related injuries. To make sure that you are compensated fairly, you should contact an Orlando auto attorney who can help you with your case—one who is familiar with the changes in the state’s PIP law and can help you navigate them. Call Auto Justice Attorney at 407-422-4529.